Back to the Basics: Natural Hair Regimen

26 Feb

Hey Y’all,

Its wash day, and because I’m often stopped in the mall and in  beauty supply stores.

I decided to give you an updated regimen for my natural coily, kinky, curls.

Shampoo:

 Image

 

I like these shampoos for a couple reasons.

  1. Very inexspensive.
  2. You can find them just about any where.
  3. They actually work!

I usually shampoo once a month unless, I have a lot of build up during the week and then I will shampoo twice a month.

I wash using tepid water, it helps in the detangling keeps curls from tangling together.

While washing I concentrate on my scalp, massaging scalp lightly then smoothing the rest of the soap towards my ends, rinsing with cool water.

 

Conditioner

Image

 

These are great conditioners as well..

  1. They are inexpensive.
  2. Can be found just about anywhere.
  3. They are very conditioning, and smell great.

I usually cowash or condition my hair once a week, using cool water to seal in the condtioner.

Oils

ImageImage

 

 

These are the only oils that I use.

The castor oil is used to seal in my conditioner after I co-wash, while my hair is still wet.

I concentrate on any areas that are damaged or grow slowly which is the crown of my head.

I also concentrate on my edges and the ends, this helps with split ends and breakage.

Works great!

Olive oil I use when Im needing sheen or adding oil after a twist out.

Other Conditioners

Image

 

This is a great conditioner for those times when my scalp is itchy, and I need a little extra conditioning.

Its very tingling to the scalp, feels wonderful, thick, creamy and you dont need much.

Leave In

Image

 

This is my ONLY leave in conditoner is great for just about anything.

I use it for twist outs, a leave in, and sometimes on my wash and gos.

But for the most part I use a quarter sized amount to my hair right after my co-washes and shampoos, then after I add the Cantu Shea Butter leave in conditioner,I add a quarter sized amount of my castor oil to seal in the leave in.

Makes my hair feel great, sometimes I will stop there allow my hair to air dry and style into a puff or leave down.

Twist Outs and Wash n Go’s

Image              Image  Image           Image

Softee Aloe Vera Activator Gel: 

Is my favorite to use on my wash n go’s.

It makes for soft curls, conditioning curls, doesn’t leave curls dry or brittle.

Lets Jam Custard 

I use when I need curls with a little more hold with lots of shine and definition.

Curl Care Strong Hold Gel by Dr Miracle

Is great for twist outs and wash n go’s with a strong hold although it really draws my hair up but I like the fact that it is a thick, rich and a conditioning gel.

Nice & Curly Curl Me Up

This is the only cream I use to do my twist outs, it leaves my curls so defined and elongated and most of all soft with an all day hold

Edge Control

Image

 

This is also the only thing I use for edge control when I’m rocking my puffs and just needing a little control around my edges and nape.

I hope this helps any of you natural hair divas that are die hard products junkies like me but are trying to get it under control by having your own regimen.

XOXO

Cha’Kina 

 

2 Responses to “Back to the Basics: Natural Hair Regimen”

  1. NickyGoGlam June 22, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

    Hi there!

    I love these conditioners as well. The V05’s smell amazing. The Cantu shea butter is my favorite. Such a clean, fresh smell. I like my hair to smell good. Thanks for sharing.

  2. handmade jewellery uk July 10, 2013 at 9:24 am #

    Hi, Neat post. There’s a problem along with your web site in web explorer, could test this? IE nonetheless is the marketplace leader and a good component of other people will pass over your wonderful writing because of this problem.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

